Skip navigation
5642 Views 6 Replies Latest reply: Aug 15, 2011 5:54 PM by lturrubiarte RSS
User 18 posts since
Aug 2, 2011
Currently Being Moderated

Aug 4, 2011 10:14 PM

Length of BCT and AIT for 68W

Can anyone give me an idea of what my total bct and ait time will be? I'm a middle school teacher and I'm trying to find the best time to go (if possible). I want to give my administrators enough time to make preparations for my absence and still be able to prepare my students for their state tests in the spring. I know I won't get the full benefits until after I go through training.

• MAOakley ArmySoldier 8,124 posts since
    Jun 9, 2009
    1. Aug 4, 2011 10:54 PM (in response to lturrubiarte)

Figure 11 weeks for BCT...1 week for reception and 10 weeks for BCT.

68W AIT is 16 weeks long, but you have have some hold-under time....which could increase the length by a week or so.

You may be able to utilize split-option program even though it is primarily for students. A recruiter could probably answer that one better.

• MAOakley ArmySoldier 8,124 posts since
    Jun 9, 2009
    3. Aug 5, 2011 9:26 AM (in response to lturrubiarte)

It would be up to your unit to send you. If you find a Hospital unit, it would increase your chances. I know that the local Hospital unit has most of the ASI's that a 68W can have and send people to these schools regularly.

• Nao User 145 posts since
    Mar 14, 2011
    5. Aug 15, 2011 2:02 PM (in response to lturrubiarte)